News: No news.
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
November 28, 2014, 04:57:00
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Topic: [SOLVED] Minor firmware update issue  (Read 2083 times)
« on: November 07, 2013, 03:40:14 »
azdps **
Posts: 54

When the upgrade firmware button is pressed when no image file has been selected, the router reboots and the following message is displayed: "The firmware is now being installed. The firewall will reboot automatically."

I believe the more appropriate action should be that an error message gets displayed indicating that a valid firmware file should be selected first. Similar to error message displayed when you try to restore a m0n0wall configuration without selecting a configuration file first.

The behavior I mentioned occurs in a July build I was using, and also the latest snapshot 1.8.1b546. Not sure of any of the other build since I haven't tried them.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2013, 12:34:55 by Lennart Grahl » Logged
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2013, 16:09:35 »
Fred Grayson
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 970

Definite bug. Thanks for the report. You may want to re-post in the Bugs forum.
Logged

--
Google is your friend and Bob's your uncle.
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2013, 11:48:52 »
Pierre Nast *
Posts: 33

Hi,

It has been fixed in 1.8.1b548.
Maybe we can mark this topic as solved?

Pierre
Logged

--
Pierre
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2013, 01:28:22 »
Pierre Nast *
Posts: 33

Hi,

Actually, 1.8.1b548 introduced a regression in the firmware upgrade function.
The regression has been fixed in 1.8.1b549.
If you upgraded to 1.8.1b548, to restore the firmware upgrade function, you will need to:
  • download the file system_firmware.php from the svn repository (http://svn.m0n0.ch/wall/branches/freebsd8/webgui/)
  • upload the file on the m0n0wall box using the exec.php page
  • move/copy the uploaded file from /tmp/ to /usr/local/www/ using the exec.php page
  • upgrade to the latest version, using the firmware upgrade page

Edit: If you moved the uploaded file, then, as stated by Fred Grayson, you need to set the file executable. You don't need to do it if you copied the uploaded file.

Pierre
« Last Edit: November 20, 2013, 09:00:37 by pierre-n » Logged

--
Pierre
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2013, 02:12:36 »
Fred Grayson
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 970

Thanks for the fix.

Also, the uploaded file must be set executable.

I STRONGLY suggest that b548 be removed from the snapshot download site.
Logged

--
Google is your friend and Bob's your uncle.
 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines