News: No news.
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
August 31, 2014, 12:31:48
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Topic: [SOLVED]1.8.0b515 WAN interface Display errors  (Read 3501 times)
« on: October 02, 2012, 18:31:38 »
wjc007 *
Posts: 9

Hello
  I am currently using 1.8.0b515,WAN interface Display errors,no In/out packets,MAC address is 363583 ,In/out errors  is 0/16805450 ,IPv4 gateway is Modem ,network normal .
« Last Edit: December 10, 2013, 00:53:29 by Fred Grayson » Logged
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2012, 13:42:33 »
brushedmoss
Administrator
*****
Posts: 442

Thanks,  I probably broke something in my checkin.  What type of WAN do you have ? (DHCP/PPPOE etc)
Logged
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2012, 17:19:24 »
wjc007 *
Posts: 9

Hello
      Wan is PPOE,1.8.0b517 WAN interface error still.MAC and out errors will become larger.
WAN interface
Status    up
PPPoE    up 
MAC address    6689
IPv4 address    
IPv4 gateway    Modem 
ISP DNS servers    
In/out packets    0/0 (5 KB/0 bytes)
In/out errors    0/478306
Logged
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2013, 19:13:28 »
doktornotor *
Posts: 1

This is still a problem with 1.8.1b540; in fact the counters are completely broken with PPPoE.

Code:
In/out packets 0/0 (3.25 MB/0 bytes)
In/out errors 0/1493584607

In/out packets does not seem to do anything, out errors counters grows like mad every time the status page is reloaded. There are no network problems for sure, the VDSL connection works perfectly fine (~25Mbps downlink, ~2Mbps uplink).

Additionally:

Quote
Status    up
PPPoE    up   
MAC address    3544447

Huh?
Logged
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2013, 22:37:09 »
brushedmoss
Administrator
*****
Posts: 442

That is definitely broken !

Will try to make sure that gets fixed soon
Logged
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2013, 23:29:29 »
Pierre Nast *
Posts: 33

Hi,

It has been fixed in 1.8.1b552.
Maybe we can mark this topic as solved?

Pierre
Logged

--
Pierre
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2014, 00:47:47 »
Lee Sharp ****
Posts: 430

I can confirm the counters work in PPPoE on 1.8b557 as well.  However, MAC Address shows as "Not Supported" which is not a big deal, but I am sure it will generate some questions!  Grin
Logged
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2014, 14:32:33 »
Pierre Nast *
Posts: 33

The interfaces created by MPD do not have MAC addresses, thus the "Not supported" label. Do You think something else should be displayed ?

Pierre
Logged

--
Pierre
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2014, 17:39:20 »
Lee Sharp ****
Posts: 430

Well, the WAN interface is on a nic with a MAC address, and I think people will expect to see it.  Especially if they have a switch, or hub, or sniffer port on the wan network.  But I can see both points.  I was more commenting on the people that will not understand and ask "Where is my MAC address?"
Logged
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2014, 21:13:51 »
Pierre Nast *
Posts: 33

I see your point. I did hesitate between the current behavior and the one You describe when fixing that bug.
If there are other people who want to have the MAC of the NIC on which the PPP link is setup, and if no one is against that, I'll do it.
Logged

--
Pierre
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2014, 07:48:42 »
Piper *
Posts: 14

I just setup another 1.8.1 box with PPPoE being used on the WAN, and noticed the MAC address listed as 'not supported'. By no means a big issue but it piqued my curiosity. Found this thread from searching and would say that purely for informational purposes, including the WAN NIC's MAC being displayed there makes sense.

Said mac address should be being used by the pppoe client for the setting up of the PPPoE session in the discovery stage, and unless im mistaken is used for sending and receiving every single ethernet frame.
Logged
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2014, 10:35:03 »
Pierre Nast *
Posts: 33

So, one more vote for the display of the MAC address.  Smiley
I'll do it ASAP.
Logged

--
Pierre
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2014, 13:28:18 »
brushedmoss
Administrator
*****
Posts: 442

pppoe interfaces and ppp interfaces don't have mac addresses.

in the case of pppoe , you could say there is a 'parent' interface with a mac address, but for ppp interfaces there is no mac address.

it might make more sense to just remove it from display like it used to be
Logged
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2014, 15:19:27 »
Lennart Grahl
Administrator
*****
Posts: 137

As long as the MAC address appears on the physical interface this shouldn't confuse anyone. But afaik the parent interface does not show up if PPP/PPPoE has been activated. Therefore I think it is best to display the MAC address of the parent interface.

Edit: But keep in mind that we can spoof MAC addresses on the WAN interface.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2014, 15:21:36 by Lennart Grahl » Logged
« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2014, 19:36:56 »
Pierre Nast *
Posts: 33

Hi,

If I understand your comments, what's wanted is that:
- if an interface doesn't have a MAC address, then the "MAC address" row isn't showed instead of the "Not supported" label;
- if that interface is based on another interface that has a MAC address, then a "Hw interface" (or "Parent interface") row is displayed instead and that new row would display the parent interface's name followed by its MAC address.
Like :

-----------------------------------------------------
| WAN interface                                     |
-----------------------------------------------------
| Status          | up                              |
-----------------------------------------------------
| PPPoE           | up [ Disconnect ]               |
-----------------------------------------------------
| Hw interface    | em0 (xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx)         |
-----------------------------------------------------
| IPv4 address    | xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/xxx:xxx:xxx:xxx |
-----------------------------------------------------

Have I correctly understood your points of vue ?

Last, can someone provide me with some output samples of netstat (netstat -I ngwan0 -nWb -f link) with a WAN interface configured for PPTP and Modem ?
Output samples for an IPv6 enabled WAN interface would be great too !
Logged

--
Pierre
 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines