News: This forum is now permanently frozen.
Pages: [1]
Topic: New m0n0wall installation with brand new PC  (Read 3964 times)
« on: September 11, 2007, 12:38:57 »
darthobiguan *

Hi all,

I am planning to install m0n0wall 1.231 for one of my customer. However, I am very new to BSD and I am not sure which PC to purchase. Looking at the list of support hardware for FreeBSd 4.11, it seems very limited. I am not sure if the latest HP/Compaq/Dell offerings will boot properly at all. Please let me know which model works on m0n0wall. I will try go that the model and specs that will work. I don't want this project to end in failure because of unsupported hardware.

I will get a D-Link DFE530TX+ network card which is listed as support hardware. So if onboard network isn't supported, let me know and I will get an additional DFE530TX+.  Thanks very much.
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2007, 16:16:04 »
flo1000 *

hey i run it on a virtual machine, disabling the tcp ip on wan adapter in host system.
that way no packet from wan will reach ur host system but tools like pcap will be able to see the passing traffic before it reaches monowall.
vmware server is free and the virtual mahcines can run as a service.
u just need to take following torrent, cause in this version the virtual NICs of vmware supported:
http://torrent.vmware.com/torrents/x-mono.tar.bz2.torrent , its 1.231 release.

its not only a nice tryout without hardware requirements, u yield flexibility too...

greets

wurst
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2007, 16:58:42 »
markb ****