News: This forum is now permanently frozen.
Pages: [1]
Topic: Newbie Bandwidth Limiter Question.  (Read 5002 times)
« on: April 12, 2008, 03:07:33 »
ken069 *

Newbie here, and not very savvy on command line stuff so keep that in mind if you try to answer my question. 

I’m a Windowz user and just recently got news that I’ll be getting a broadband wireless connection available to me some time in June.  FINALLY!

I’ve got a problem with one computer on my LAN though.  My Wife’s Dell will suck the complete bottom out of my dialup connection now and when the new connection comes in I don’t want that happening with the broadband connection.  If we’re both surfing the net and she opens a website while I’m trying to load one my connection goes damn near to zero speed until her page loads!  I’ve tried modifying the QoS crap and it did nothing to slow it down so I’m looking for answers.

The broadband connection I’ll be getting is 500 down and 250 up.  I want to limit her Dell to what we have now in dialup, which is usually 50kbps and about 5k throughput on a good day. 

I stuck a Pentium 233 box together with128MB of memory and loaded m0n0wall on a 1GB drive and played with it some but I never did see where bandwidth could be controlled on individual computers on my LAN? 

So my question is, can I do this with m0n0wall and if so how?  And please make it simple! <BG>

Thanks!!

Life is hard.  It's even harder if you're stupid!
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2008, 20:46:20 »
SteveEast *

This may not be want you want to hear but I think you should wait to see what sort of performance you get with your new broadband connection before you start thinking about bandwidth limiting. After all, you're about to increase your downstream bandwidth by a factor of 10. 500kbps isn't a lot but it should be enough for you and your wife to co-exist happily while surfing. Whereas 50kbps just isn't really enough when the bandwidth is shared.