News: This forum is now permanently frozen.
Pages: [1]
Topic: New to m0n0wall and to vpn setups, need some help.  (Read 3358 times)
« on: April 05, 2007, 15:01:20 »
lappyx86 *

Ok, so here is the situation.  I am relatively new to m0n0wall, and to setting up VPN solutions as well.  I am looking to create a fairly simple VPN solution to dial into a network via PPTP for a small company that I work for.  I am loving m0n0wall, but I really only want to have it functioning as a VPN solution for now, since we already have a very nice and functional firewall up and running, and i have very few intentions of removing it.  Currently i have a few questions about how to use m0n0wall best in my environment.

If I am only using the VPN, do i still need dual NICs? and if so, how do i set them up in my IP address scheme.  Should they both end up being inside my network (or rather should i say behind the current firewall) with the WAN IP being in either in the DMZ or should i set up port forwarding so that all incoming VPN traffic is forwarded to it?

Why, when I have both NICs assigned with static IP's, does plugging in the WAN port freeze up the GUI on m0n0wall? (LAN 10.1.0.18, WAN 10.1.0.19)  usually a reboot fixes this, but sometimes after 30 or so minutes it crashes again.  Oddly, it does not freeze the terminal interface on the actual box.

Also, any hints on how the actual wiring should be done, or best practices that people have found would be nice.  Currently I have a feeling i will be plugging the WAN port into the back of the current firewall, using port forwarding to push traffic towards it, and then having the LAN port (obviously) sit in the actual network.

« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2007, 22:43:52 »
cmb *****

You have the same subnet on both interfaces - I'm surprised it works at all. Of course you probably have both interfaces pugged into the same broadcast domain as well.