News: This forum is now permanently frozen.
Pages: [1]
Topic: I want to make sure VPN traffic has priority through my system.  (Read 3455 times)
« on: April 15, 2007, 19:18:46 »
seckid *

Hello everyone.

I am brand new to monowall and do not as of yet fully understand how to program the settings.  But rather than wait the few days/weeks it will take to become proficient, I was hoping one of you could help me out while I continue to learn.

I have configured the monowall as a passthrough device  (using advanced outbound NAT) from my Internet provider (6mb/6mb) to my internet switch.  The switch is where I have a bank of webservers, VPN servers, email servers, etc. that my users connect to.  I chose this setup because I would like to set up firewall rules/filtering/shaping before any internet data comes into the building.

Usually, towards the end of the day my internet usage gets maxxed out.  (yes, I have a bunch of internet hogs on my circuits)  I also have remote users who come in through the internet and establish VPN connections to work.  These people are having a hard time staying connected at the end of the day and their screens are extremely slow if they can stay connected.

My question is:

Is it possible to set up a rule to make sure my VPN users have priority to the internet bandwidth so they stay fast?

How would I go about doing that?

« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2007, 21:47:47 »
JonnyRo *

If I have understood correctly in past discussions, VPN traffic cannot be traffic shaped. 

That being said, you may be able to exploit that fact to prioritize vpn traffic above all else.  if you use the traffic shaper to specify a pipe speed that is less than your true pipe speed, you will be keeping a "reserve" that can only be seen by VPN users.

This of course does reduce your total utilization of the pipe somewhat. 

You could also use a separate m0n0wall unit for PPTP vpn, inside your LAN and have the external m0n0wall pass traffic to it.