News: This forum is now permanently frozen.
Pages: [1]
Topic: Soekris net5501, Traverse ADSL2+ and m0n0wall as ADSL Router and Firewall  (Read 11327 times)
« on: August 10, 2010, 19:07:22 »
Lunchtime in Oakham *

I have been running a Soekris net5501 with m0n0wall for about 6 months now, connected to a 'consumer' wired ADSL router as a stepping stone to adding an ADSL modem and effectively building my own router.

martin42's thread showed me that it was possible with the Traverse Viking ADSL2+ card, so I ordered this ADSL2 card recently and now have everything working. Much credit to martin42 for trailblazing.

I took a slightly different approach and I thought it was worth writing up in some detail, partly so I could retrace my own steps and partly in the hope it would help others to build this combo - or similar - and get it working quickly without having to learn a few things the hard way.

The Traverse Viking ADSL2+ card hosts a complete ADSL2+ router. martin42 chose to configure the router as a bridge and use PPPoE on the m0n0wall WAN interface. The difficulty, which martin42 acknowledges, is that you cannot access the configuration interface of the Traverse Viking ADSL2+ card while the m0n0wall WAN interface is configured for PPPoE - so you cannot see any line or error stats while the link is live.

I have left the Traverse Viking ADSL2+ configured as a router. Assuming it has enough processing power, this should not affect the throughput capabilities. [Although I have tried my card as a modem, I have not tested whether throughput is affected.] I think thank the only adverse effect may be for gamers who are bothered about their ping stats. A router configuration should make setting up and troubleshooting simpler.

Ultimately, if there is some way of configuring which allows the Traverse Viking ADSL2+ to be configured as a modem while still being able to access the configuration interface, I would like to revisit my setup.