News: This forum is now permanently frozen.
Pages: [1]
Topic: Install on USB flash drive, which image  (Read 6756 times)
« on: March 16, 2012, 14:05:21 »
smithrock *

Hello, I am very new to m0n0wall and learning. I have read instructions but still have questions.
old computer with the CD drive, no hdd, 3 nics, I can set the motherboard to boot from USB flash drive.
I am trying to install and boot m0n0wall onto USB flash drive.
which method of installation do you suggest that I should use?
1) run the CD with cdrom-1.33.iso then choose option to install onto usb (since there is no other HDD, it installs to the usb)
2) generic-pc-1.33.img, use physdiskwrite to write this image onto usb flash drive.

I tried both methods and both times system boots fine, however, in method 2, when I pull the usb flash drive out, program says cannot find the media and system re-boots. I was expecting the program to continue run, I thought, m0n0wall would create the ram area and run from it so the usb will have fewer access to it.
I was wondering if method 2 is the correct way to install and run from usb.

thank you,
smith
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2012, 21:43:25 »
Јаневски ***

I don't think You should pull out the USB drive, it's not meant to work that way, however I've found out that due to m0n0's efficient nature it could run and continue to run on damaged HDDs, and due to this ability it saved me some precious network uptime in delicate and difficult situations and circumstances.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2012, 21:45:10 by Јаневски »

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2012, 02:35:58 »
yowsers *

someone who is much smarter than me may correct me, but #2 is what you should do.  I'm guessing that when you did #1 and you unplugged the usb key you had the same issue of the system rebooting?  if the answer is no, #1 did not exhibit the same thing, then I'd do #1.  however, that said, #2 is what I would have done.
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2012, 14:28:15 »
smithrock *