News: This forum is now permanently frozen.
Pages: [1]
Topic: Trouble installing: failed to decompress  (Read 2835 times)
« on: January 18, 2013, 01:17:44 »
volumetricsteve *

Hello all,

I've been using m0n0wall for a few years now and never before have I seen what it's doing today.  I got the latest ISO, burned it to a CD, it boots fine.  I go to install it on my USB drive and on some machines it appears to do nothing at all.  On other machines I get bad directory errors, and on my last attempt it looked like gunzip failed to decompress something.  I'm tempted to point a finger at the install media, but I thought I'd see if anyone else was having the same issue.

Thanks
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2013, 06:43:33 »
Јаневски ***

Could You try burning another CD possibly with another CD drive? I think it's damaged installation media.

I haven't had such problems, only twice i had something that was remotely similar, so i was unable to install m0n0 - in the first case the HDD was almost dead, and in the second the flash drive was dead. In both scenarios the equipment was way too old and beyond repair and didn't work with anything else too.

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2013, 16:16:05 »
volumetricsteve *

I actually tried the latest snapshot, as well as the latest stable release.  Oddly enough, the snapshot installed on a SATA drive, but it will not install to any USB drive I have.  I've tried formatting the usb drives as free space, fat32, fat16....no luck.  The system that installed m0n0wall on the SATA drive, was unfortunately not my firewall.  My firewall system won't let me install any version of m0n0wall on any device, it kernel panics.  If I take that SATA drive that boots and put it in my firewall, it kernel panics there too.  Is there any reason a freeBSD core wouldn't boot on an AMD E350?
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2013, 17:10:00 »
Fred Grayson *****