News: This forum is now permanently frozen.
Pages: [1]
Topic: Destination interface in filter rule  (Read 2124 times)
« on: July 08, 2007, 23:31:31 »
hupf *

Hi all

I'm new to m0n0wall and I'm beginning to like it. Nevertheless I have one very basic thing I don't understand:

Let's assume I want to implement the simple policy "pass HTTP traffic from any host in the LAN to any host in the WAN (internet), but to no other interfaces (like DMZ or VPN)". How can I achieve this?

It seems that the m0n0wall destination option "WAN Address", does only match the WAN subnet, but I want to match packages for the world wide internet... I'm missing a destination like "WAN Interface".

I've done such rules many times with iptables and I think with pf it would look something like this (with fxp0=LAN and fxp1=WAN):

Code:
pass in on fxp0 proto tcp from any to fxp1 port www

Is my netfilter-affected thinking wrong? Is it simply not possible with m0n0wall, or how do you implement this policy with m0n0wall?

Regards,
hupf
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2007, 04:07:50 »
cmb *****

Traffic is filtered on the interface is comes in on, based on its destination.

Let's assume I want to implement the simple policy "pass HTTP traffic from any host in the LAN to any host in the WAN (internet), but to no other interfaces (like DMZ or VPN)". How can I achieve this?

Put in a rule on your LAN allowing HTTP to "not" your other interfaces' subnets.
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2007, 10:24:28 »
hupf *

Hi cmb

The problem is, that with more than three interfaces it is not possible to work with negation. In my case I would have to first create two block rules, one for the DMZ and one for the VPN interface, then finally a pass rule for the remaining traffic (which will be the one for the WAN interface)...