News: This forum is now permanently frozen.
Pages: [1]
Topic: Soekris hardware need  (Read 3456 times)
« on: July 26, 2007, 13:49:37 »
hirantha *

Hi All,

I am very new to m0n0wall and I need to build it on Soekris hardware. I am willing to buy Soekris hardware. I do have selected items but I'm  not sure those are right products for my requirement.

My requirement:

5 Interfaces
WAN  - Internet
LAN - Local network
DMZ - servers
DMZ1 - protected network
DMZ2 - protected network

I have selected following items to setup this.
Soekris board - net4801-50
Soekris Ethernet adapter - lan1621
Soekris case - Don't know what will goes with board and additional adapter...?
Soekris power adapter - Don't know which one to chose but should be worldwide
Compact Flash card at least 8 MB in size - hope SunDisk is ok with 64MB but please advice on what to chose
Compact Flash card reader/writer  - Don't know but should compatible with SunDisk.

As you can see I do need your help to figure out what sort of hardware do need to buy. These hardware is not available in my country; so once I get it down a wrong item.. I'm in trouble so I really appreciate   your recommendation for this regards

Thanks in advance

-+> Hirantha

« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2007, 18:37:23 »
CJan_NH *

Hello Hirantha Smiley

It looks like you did a excellent job selecting your hardware. If you order the net4801-50 board and lan1621 card directly from Soekris they will make sure that the right case is included. For power supplies, Soekris model # 31211225 (2.5 amps 90V-264V) is suitable for non-US power. It's only $2.00 more than Soekris model #31211215, which is rated for 1.5 amps.

My company is currently has two Soekris net4801-50 routers in use. Both of ours have the 4 port lan1641 boards installed, and one of them has the vpn1411 hardware crypto card onboard as well.