News: This forum is now permanently frozen.
Pages: [1]
Topic: Help me to defeat my kids and Youtube, please!  (Read 3639 times)
« on: August 26, 2007, 15:52:24 »
Mastiff *

First of all, since this is my first posting: Thank you very much for a fantastic product! I have been using it for a few years now, and it's incredibly stable and works as I want it to! I have the generic PC version 1.2 running on an old Pentium 75 (I think), which is passively cooled, so it's almost inaudible. Wish my server was like that...

To the problem: My kids loves to watch funny videos on Youtube, and when they're at it, it eats all available bandwith. Especially when they're on at the same time! I would like to give everything Youtube a low priority. I have a bunch of queues with from low to high priority (with my IP phone having the highest priority alone, while FTP downloads and stuff are below regular surfing). But the problem is of course that Youtube owns the entire 208.65.153.0 to 208.65.153.255 range. I don't really think I'm gonna sit here and enter 255 rules. Besides I th ink I have seen connections that uses other 208.65 addresses, so perhaps they have expanded?

Can somebody tell me how to make a rule for the full range of 208.65.*.* without messing up the rules I already have in place, and that are working perfectly for me? I think the magic shaper wizard will delete those, right?

Thanks in advance!
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2007, 07:58:27 »
Max2950 ***

Hi,

I'm very new to m0n0wall (installed it yesterday evenning).... I guess you'll have to add a rule that put alll youtube's subnet into a low download priority queue. You could add a rule where in destination you specify as the rule target "network" and "208.65.153.0/16". I'm not 100% sure about the /16 ....
By the way, maybe your CPU is a bottleneck, no ?

I hope this might help you !
« Last Edit: August 30, 2007, 08:37:40 by Max2950 »
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2007, 20:28:55 »
havoc3d *