News: This forum is now permanently frozen.
Pages: [1]
Topic: Noticed m0n0wall with freebsd6 in CVS?  (Read 3255 times)
« on: March 30, 2007, 17:03:00 »
Liath.WW *

Hey there,

I've used m0n0wall for a long time, and was kinda forced to switch to pfSense because m0n0wall didn't support Atheros or wireless-G.  And getting new wireless cards isn't exactly an option for me at this point, nor do I want to go for slow B speeds :|
  Just out of curiosity I checked the CVS repository, and noticed a freeBSD6 folder in there.  So, my question is:  is that build stable?  If so, I'd love to know how to install it.  pfSense seems like a really nice project, but I've noticed a few things I really haven't liked much with it; it takes a while to go from cold boot to operational state, the GUI is sluggish and seems to want to rebuild the queues every time I make changes that I wouldn't think would affect them (but I'm not an expert here), the shaping doesn't seem to be as good as good ol' m0n0wall, and m0n0wall had a much higher throughput (esp with p2p going a lot).  Another thing I noticed is that pfSense seems to end up corrupted very easily when the power drops -- m0n0wall never had this problem.
  I'd love to switch back to m0n0wall!  If anyone has any ideas or suggestions, I'm open for 'em!

Router box:
Intel 810 chipset board
Intel 500Mhz Celeron
512MB SDRAM
4GB HD
Network drivers:  rl, sis, dc, ath (wan, lan, dmz, wifi)

« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2007, 17:47:12 »
NXArmada *

download is available as img form on the main m0n0wall site as 1.3b but they are beta versions
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2007, 19:37:56 »
Liath.WW *

Before I go installing a beta, is it relatively stable, and is the performance close to, if not better than the stable release versions? 
I'm hosting the wireless mainly for my roommate and neighbor, and they do contribute to the bill.  If the layout of the apt allowed for a nice fast cable, I'd go all wired and just use stable, but alas... no such luck.